Diversity

I must admit, I judge people more than I thought. I always, always judge them on their clothing and their hair. I’ve been proven wrong by these preconceived judgments and I’m getting better at it. My best friend, Bianca, used to hang out with the “cool skaters” that I really didn’t like and I thought they were snobby; so when I met Bianca that’s what I thought about her. Turns out I found my soul mate in my best friend. I identify with the Mexican culture, not Latino. I kinda hate that word actually. I still claim Catholicism even though I’m not really sure where I stand with God because that’s the way I was raised and that’s the only god I’ve believed in. Most people that aren’t Hispanic always ask me if I can bring them food or make it for them. Unless I really like you, that won’t happen. It takes a lot of time and effort, especially tamales because you have to prepare about two days before and most foods are slowly cooked to get the right flavor. Being a girl, Mexican and a first generation university student I get judged a lot. I’m still not seen as a complete equal to a man and I’m at a disadvantage when it comes to being in college (which I didn’t because my high school concentrated a lot on individual attention in our junior and senior year to get us into college.) My parents raised me to be understanding of other people and well yeah even though I might judge you, I’ll try to put that aside while I’m getting to know you. My friends have also taught me all of the street knowledge I have which is very little anyway. I want to study abroad because I’m tired of seeing the same view for the past 18 years of my life and I want to see other cultures and customs being practiced rather than learn about them through textbooks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

