RTN

There are a lot of things that inspire me and a lot of things that I value. I value my friendships, trust, honesty, family, someone’s affection. I can be needy, really needy at times. Music for one inspires me. It’s not about making it but rather the effect it has on me and people like me. I like how it makes people feel less alone and how certain songs can create the soundtrack of their life. I just, I don’t know. I don’t know what I want to do and that scares me. I ask myself this every single day. I kind of want to be a writer but that’ll get me nowhere because I’m not that talented. I kind of want to major in journalism because I like to talk to people and just know things. At first, it’s hard and I don’t want to do start a conversation with a stranger but then I just can’t shut up and I want to know everything. I want to hear their opinion on everything we talk about. I just find other people interesting and I want to know them. Maybe I’m trying to live through other people, I don’t know. I never know. I want a job I love, something that doesn’t feel forced and boring and awful. I don’t want to be in a “corporate prison.” I want to be fun and spirited but I also don’t want to struggle to survive. Please help.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to RTN

  1. You are speaking my language right now! I have spent my whole life trying to figure out what I want to do. Then it just kind of hit me. Don’t put yourself down by pointing out what you aren’t good at. Find what you love to do and see if you can make something out of it. Heck, google careers in the stuff you love to do! Ha the internet is a wonderful thing. Just know that you are not alone in this world of picking a life career right now. You have time. So take a breath to stop and smell the roses. When you know, you’ll know.

  2. Laura Pasquini says:

    Ashley is right — sometimes linking your passions to your careers is a process. It won’t be an over-night sort of thing, but hopefully the Roadtrip Nation Project will bring you some new ideas and perspectives for your exploration/journey. 🙂

  3. logansloan says:

    I feel the same way about music.. while I think it would be awesome to create it, I love surrounding myself in it and connecting with the lyrics and sound.

    I feel the same way about being undecided in my career path. It’s scary to not know what you’ll be doing in five years.. but I think it’s kind of exciting at the same time (think of all the exploring and discovering we get to do). I just try to keep an open mind about possible majors and careers and I trust that it’ll work itself out with a bit of time and effort. We won’t be undecided forever!

    I love your background, by the way, so cute.

  4. We value the some of the same things. Family, friendships, honesty, and trust. All these values have contributed to making the person I am today and who I will be in the future.

Leave a Reply

